Writing Prompt “Fairy Tale Redoux”

(The LinkedIn discussion thread can be found here. This post is for stories only.)

What childhood would be complete without fairy tales? The epitome of a flash fiction, fairy tales are generally short, to the point, and tell a story, complete with beginning, middle and end.

The very definition of a Fairy Tale is: a story (generally for children) involving fantastic forces and beings such as fairies, wizards, and goblins, in which improbably events lead to a happy ending.

This month’s genre prompt is a challenge to step outside your comfort zone. To deconstruct and then reconstruct a fairy tale with a horror twist on it.

This does not mean you have to write a story about wanton violence, the horror genre may be psychological rather than physical. Horror has many styles and definitions, it will be up to you to portray a truly horrific story.

Your story can be any horror genre including subgenres (but not limited to) dark fantasy, gothic, monster, occult, vampire or werewolf.

Step 1

Choose a fairy tale written by one of the many famous authors such as Hans Christian Anderson, The Brothers Grimm, Joseph Jacobs, Charles Perrault and many more.

A list can be found here.

Step 2

Submit your story in the comment section by midnight pacific time, March 27, 2016. Your story must include:

  • Your Story Title
  • Name of the fairy tale you are revamping.
  • Be less than 1200 words.

You will be allowed 2 rewrites during this period.

Step 3

 

The voting period will be March 28-30.

Voting starts Monday, March 28 at 9:00am PDT / 12:00pm EST / 10:30pm IST / 5:00pm WET/GMT/ 4:00am AEDT (Thursday) and ends the same time on Wednesday, March 30 / 4:00am AEDT (Friday). Winner will be announced in the Comment and Story thread.

Have fun!


click tracking